Display Banner

The President of Miyetti Allah Kautal Hore, Bello Bodejo, was arrested by Department of State Services agents for allegedly forming a vigilante group in Nasarawa State.

Bodejo was detained on Tuesday at Miyetti Allah’s headquarters, Tundun Maliya Cattle Market, Kilometre 22, Abuja-Keffi Motorway, Tundun-Wada, Karu Local Government Area, Nasarawa State.

The DSS operatives, along with some Nigerian Army personnel, were alleged to have invaded Miyetti Allah’s Head Office near Goshen Church at around 3:40 p.m. on Tuesday, driving away after arresting Bodejo at the gate.

According to a DSS source who confirmed the detention to our correspondent, Bodejo was arrested because there were concerns that the formation of the Nomad’s Vigilante Group might lead to widespread bloodshed.

He further stated that the group was not registered with the DSS, the police, or any other security agency, therefore it is not acknowledged by the Federal Government.

The source said, “Our (DSS) operatives and soldiers of the Nigerian Army stormed the Miyetti Allah’s Head Office in Nasarawa this afternoon, and we’ve arrested their National President, Bello Bodejo, for creating a vigilante group that is not recognised by the government.

“The creation of that nomad’s vigilante group could cause violence in the country. The group was not registered with the DSS, the police, or any other security agency, and the group is not recognised by the Federal Government.”

When contacted over the development, the DSS’ spokesperson, Dr Peter Afunanya, did not respond to phone calls and text messages by our correspondent.

Meanwhile, following the creation of the vigilante group, Bodejo had emphasised that the volunteer vigilantes would strictly adhere to the country’s existing laws during their operations.

During the inauguration in Lafia, Nasarawa State, Bodejo urged the volunteer vigilantes to work in collaboration with the Police, Army, and other security agencies to ensure a more comprehensive approach to security across the 13 local councils of Nasarawa